Project Management

Joy Tapper portrait

Joy R. Tapper MPA

Executive Director

With over 30 years of experience in healthcare policy, planning and administration, Joy Tapper serves as the Executive Director for the Milwaukee Health Care Partnership.

Joy previously served as Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer for the Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare system, where she had management responsibility for the physician services organization, system-wide service lines and an array of regional administrative and support functions. These included planning, marketing-communications, public and government relations, fund development, mission services, and human resources. Over the course of her 22 years of service with the Wheaton system, she also served on the governing boards of the five Milwaukee-based Wheaton hospitals, the medical group, the three long term care centers and other system subsidiaries and joint venture corporations.

Joy holds a Masters Degree in Public Administration from the University of Wisconsin Madison’s Lafollette Institute, a B.A. degree from St. Olaf College, in Northfield, MN and has participated as both a student and faculty in a number of continuing education programs including an extensive quality improvement certification program. She is a graduate of the Future Milwaukee leadership program and a past recipient of the Milwaukee Business Journal “Woman of Influence” award, as well as leadership awards from the Wisconsin Council on Children and Families and the Medical Society of Milwaukee County.

Joy is a member of a number of professional and community organizations including the boards of the Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association, the MCW Healthier Wisconsin Partnership Program, and the Agnesian Sponsorship Ministries. She also serves on the Wisconsin Hospital Association’s Medicaid Reengineering and Public Policy committees, the Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Redesign Steering Committee, the Milwaukee Oral Health Task Force, and Milwaukee Succeeds, along with other State and local health committees.